Skip to content

The right way = west

It took me 23 years to finally hear what the sun had screamed from high above each and every day. When I did finally listen I heard: follow me! Now over 5 years on from that day I listen and trust her without question, especially when I find myself far from home like I do today. For 5 years the right way for me has always been west (hence the compass on my right foot pointing west). In 5 days I will follow the sun west once again, to my home… Falcon, 70km south of Perth on Australia’s breath taking west coast. See you soon my friends!

20120902-114035.jpg

20120902-114047.jpg

“If there is such a thing as being conditioned by climate and geography, and I think there is, it is the West that has conditioned me. It has the forms and lights and colors that I respond to in nature and in art. If there is a western speech, I speak it; if there is a western character or personality, I am some variant of it; if there is a western culture in the small-c , anthropological sense, I have not escaped it. It has to have shaped me. I may even have contributed to it in minor ways, for culture is a pyramid to which each of us brings a stone.” – Wallace Stegner

“It should not be denied… that being footloose has always exhilarated us. It is associated in our minds with escape from history and oppression and law and irksome obligations, with absolute freedom, and the road has always led West.” – Wallace Stegner

_

Categories: Blog
Posted by Brett Wawn on September 2, 2012
1 Comment Post a comment
  1. 09/4/2012
    Bridgit

    “There’s a feeling I get when I look to the west and my spirit is crying for leaving.” -LZ. Great Posts, Brett!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

