Skip to content

Solus

Solo originated from the Latin word solus meaning ‘alone’.

At approximately 6:oopm on Sunday the 6th May 2012 after 3 weeks of driving solo from Penrith in NSW (60km west of Sydney on Australia’s east coast) I reached my destination – my home – Falcon, Western Australia. I traveled more than 5,500km alone, yet now that I have reached the end it feels like the biggest solo journey of my life has just begun.

Many people before, during and after my drive have stopped me to ask “What does Eat Soggy Weet-Bix mean?”. I am of course more than happy to explain this and the one thing which seems to capture their attention the most is the fact I did the drive west alone. They ask “weren’t you bored? Weren’t you scared? Didn’t you wish you had someone with you?” Well firstly I was never bored as I have always loved driving plus thanks to Pioneer I always had my music as company. I was of course scared during some parts of my trip as you would have read about in a recent post titled ’13’… and yes for some of my trip I did wish I had someone with me. But I have learnt over the years to be an independent guy. I have for along time now been comfortable with my own company. I am more than happy heading to the cinemas alone as much as I am happy white water kayaking or running alone. I even started up my own business alone.

I think we put far too much emphasis on human relationships. I am certainly struggling with it at the moment, but its in times like I am faced with now that you grow your independent muscles most. Its during these times where you learn most about YOU! So as much as I wish I had a “partner” at times I am so grateful for the lessons I have learnt whilst without one as I am grateful for the lessons ahead.

As Anthony Kiedis – lead singer of the Red Hot Chili Peppers – once sung in the song Scar Tissue “with the birds I share this lonely view”

“The sea’s only gifts are harsh blows, and occasionally the chance to feel strong. Now I don’t know much about the sea, but I do know that that’s the way it is here. And I also know how important it is in life not necessarily to be strong but to feel strong. To measure yourself at least once. To find yourself at least once in the most ancient of human conditions. Facing the blind death stone alone, with nothing to help you but your hands and your own head.” – Christopher McCandless

“You are wrong if you think that the joy of life comes principally from the joy of human relationships. Gods placed it all around us, it is in everything and in anything we can experience. People just need to change the way they look at things.” – Christopher McCandless

Categories: Blog
Posted by Brett Wawn on May 10, 2012
5 Comments Post a comment
  1. 05/11/2012
    Bob Ingle

    Hi Brett, enjoy your travels as I have enjoyed travelling with you. Friends are only a smile away any where that you go.
    I know Falcon very well as a previous resident of Mandurah (Riverside Gardens, Greenfields) and still have a friend in Falcon (Gus Atkins) and Toni Cole at Halls Head.
    May you on for many years to come.
    Good Luck.

    Reply
    • 05/14/2012

      Thank you kindly for all your support Bob. It means a great deal. Where are you located these days? Still in WA I assume?

      Reply
      • 05/14/2012
        Bob Ingle

        No I am now in Karuah NSW but my heart is still in WA.

      • 05/14/2012

        I know the feeling!

  2. 05/11/2012
    Dennis Wawn

    Hi Mate,

    You are never alone. You are always in our hearts and minds.

    WA is where your heart is and your friends are.

    Love you and miss you. Take care, you are a wonderful person.

    Dad

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

