Skip to content

Tick Tock

Well… Its officially official! The day is set and the final count down has started tick tocking.

I gave my current employer 4 weeks notice yesterday. I do of course feel quite melancholy to be leaving a job I truly enjoy immersing myself in each day, but the excitement surrounding my trip west far overshadows any regrets or sadness. I have far too much to look forward to. Far too many friends I care about on the west coast and far too many plans I have my eyes set on, to consider staying in Sydney any longer. It’s time to head home!

The hardest thing to say goodbye to will obviously be my family. After being away from them for 4 years it was great to see them again each day, especially my angelic, personality filled niece, Kayla. But, my family is going no where and they will always be only a 5 hour flight away. For me my life and my future is back west. My business, my friends (my second family), the beyond perfect lifestyle it offers, along with something I am sure I will update you about in the future.

This time its going to be a totally different journey west because this time I am heading home, not running away from it. This time I know what’s on the other end. The scary doesn’t exist this time around. Its been replaced with an extraordinary pull I feel from the western horizon – the urge to see the sun disappear behind the Indian Ocean and rise again the next day over Western Australia’s sandy covered land.

My solo expedition west begins on Monday April 16th 2012, which is exactly five years to the very day I left on my original tramp.

There is still loads to plan and prepare for. Boxes to be packed and modifications to be done to my car. But, my blog will capture it all.

Eat Soggy Weet-Bix- whilst paying homage to my original drive west – is your door step into my sequel expedition, its events, experiences and photography, with the Australian road returning as its star. Please tell your friends. Share my site on Facebook or email it to everyone in your address book at home and at work. Its time to release it too all. I want to share my trip with as many of you as possible. I want to show Australia off.

I want to show people that you don’t have to live in unhappy circumstances. If you need change then go and find it. A great friend of mine once said “Happiness is hard to find within oneself, but its impossible to find anywhere else”. Be dramatic about it. Be radical. Aim high! I guarantee you will not regret it. “You will see things and meet people and there is much to learn from them. Don’t hesitate or allow yourself to make excuses. Just get out and do it. You will be very glad that you did”.

Read this for inspiration.

Categories: Blog
Posted by Brett Wawn on March 17, 2012

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

